Celebrating Dads Everywhere

Think about all the groups humans have created to divide and segregate us into a group defined by a single name; Mother, Jewish, Asian, Old, Female, Gay, Intersex, Republican, Lawyer…the list is endless.  A tendency of humans is to separate each other by how we are different, often carrying stereotypes.  Classifications and groups define much of our lives.

Then, I think about the two fathers in my life at this moment; my biological dad in the United States and the dad who has taken me in as his own daughter in a matter of weeks in Ecuador. The groups that have manifested in our world would separate these two men many different ways.  But through my eyes, the share much more in common than their differences. The traits they share and what really defines who they are as humans is not something that can be classified by a group.

They both…

1. Have unconditional love for their children and spouse.  And would run through a burning fire for their family.

2. Are empathetic and understanding. They listen to you when no one else will.

3. Will be the first ones to pick you up when you fall.  And offer their help, even if you don’t ask for it.

4. Have amazing selflessness. And will always think of you before themselves.

I could really go on forever.

Yes, both of my dads are carpenters separating them into a group based on their occupation.  My dad in the US builds beautiful houses from scratch that eventually turn into homes.  My dad in Ecuador creates immaculate furniture and doors for homes. The work they both do is an art. And they both pride themselves on the work they do.

IMG_7707_635704807217501167_Afterlight_Editphoto

Placing them in a group with all other carpenters, to me is unfair. There are carpenters who do not have a passion for their work.  Who do not pour love into every creation they build.  These people do not fit into the same “group” as my fathers.

Not one of these men can fit into a cookie cutter mold society wants to create for them, just like all of us.  We are all so much more than the groups society makes for us and I encourage you to remember that today.

Dad—Sending all my love from Ecuador to you, I love you!

photo (2)