Things I Relearned this week 3.0

IMG_3109

Side note—my brother took my grandmother and me on a flight while I was home. He’s a pretty talented pilot.

As many of you know, I took a trip back to the states to visit with family and friends. Even though it was only a week vacation, it was the perfect dose of hugs, belly laughs, and good food that I needed. While there, I realized there were a lot of things I had become very accustomed to after living in Ecuador for a year.  Some of those things are so different from the states that during my trip took a little bit of time to get used to.  So in following my common theme of “things I learned this week”, I am going to call this one “things I relearned this week: my trip to the states”.  These are just a couple of things I had to become familiar with again in the states.

  1. You can throw toilet paper in the toilet. Still after a week, this was one thing I could not get used to. In Ecuador, I have religiously thrown my toilet paper in the garbage bins after a traumatizing pipe and sewer situation and just couldn’t change the habit in the states. I guess all those famous books and studies that say it takes 21 days to break a habit are true.
  2. Tap water. And Free water. What a blessing to be able to walk up to any sink of faucet, stick your face under it and get a drink of water. Or how about going to a restaurant and asking for a glass of water…and it’s free.
  3. On another note, everything but water is expensive. What do you mean it is 13 dollars for this salad? I’m sorry, is it made of GOLD?!
  4. I could walk down the street without being whistled at by my neighbors… I went through the whole week without hearing a whistle, “hola guapa”, or any combination of the two.
  5. Diversity of food. So many different types of food. And to add to that, diversity in alcohol. A little bit more variety than just Pilsner, Club, or Clos.

    IMG_2946 - Copy

    TG for bagels and bruggers. I love you.

  6. Where are all the children? I am so used to seeing kids outside playing soccer, riding bikes, doing science experiments in the mud, and playing tag in front of every other house in Puerto López. When I went back to the states, I saw only a handful of kids outside. Where are they all?  Shout out to the Francis family for forcing your kids outside and holding their cell phones captive.
  7. My hair and make-up. In Puerto Lopez, because it is so humid, every morning I automatically put my hair in a bun (maybe, just maybe, I run a brush through it before hand) and make-up is not an option because it melts off my face in about five minutes. In Michigan, where humidity is virtually non-existent, I actually did my hair and makeup while there. Still not sure what I like more; being able to walk out the door in five minutes au-natural or 45 minutes later and after a fight with my curling iron and redoing my makeup three times to avoid looking like a Barbie doll.
  8. Car horns. If you didn’t know I was in Michigan the past week, you probably did when I got behind the wheel. People rarely honk their horns in the US (Exceptions – New York, Chicago, LA, and Washington DC). And when you do, it’s because someone really really pissed you off. In Ecuador, people use car horns to say hi to friends, to alert their passing in the left lane, or simply when the light turns green. In the states, I had a constant urge to honk my horn.
  9. Pets. In Puerto López, people look at me like a crazy lady when I walk around with Leo on a leash.  One time someone asked me, why are you punishing him? I have reluctantly let him wander off his leash at times. It is just the opposite in Rochester Hills, people would look at me like a crazy lady if I didn’t have Leo on a leash. My friend, Megan, and I took her puppy for a walk while we were home and as a habit, I let Josie off the leash when no one was around.  I think Megan almost had a heart attack.
  10. Grass. I am not sure how to explain this one other than it is so beautiful. If you would like further explanation please ask my mother, my brother, Megan Gardella, or Jeff Williams who all witnessed my fascination with grass during the week.

To all my family and friends in Michigan, thanks for welcoming me back for the week in all the most perfect ways and see you soon!

P.S. I think I took about 10 pictures total while I was home and 90 percent of them are of food.  But, I also think you all know what the states look like and what kind of food is there.