Dear Liliana & Rafaela

 

Image-1Dear Liliana and Rafaela,

You probably don’t remember the first time we met but I remember it like it was yesterday. I had just moved out of my host family’s house in Puerto Lopez to an apartment. I was overwhelmed with my new found independence but deep down felt a lingering loneliness. I loved being able to come home and cook whatever I want for dinner instead of eating a third plate of rice that day but then who was I going to eat dinner with? I loved being able to watch a movie in complete silence without a screaming baby next to me or a soccer ball flying in the air, but then I found myself alone laughing at all the jokes or crying when the beloved Marley passed away. And then you two came along.

For about a month we just passed by each other, your house and my apartment just 20 meters away. We would exchange friendly greetings and that was all.  Then one day, I heard a knock on my door. I opened the door a bit apprehensively, no one had ever knocked on my door, and there stood you both. Liliana with a stern looking face and earrings way too big for your ears and Rafaela hiding behind your big sister’s legs with tight curls rimming your perfectly round face. Liliana, you looked me up and down before politely asking “excuse me miss, who lives in this house”. I responded, a little perplexed, by saying “well me, of course”. And Liliana, you proceeded to ask me “by yourself? Aren’t you lonely?” I caught myself laughing at your question, the pure honesty and curiosity. And because you were right, I was lonely. I responded by saying “well, sometimes”. A smile spread across your face, Liliana, as you burst out your next question “can we be your friends?”. But what you don’t know is that you are more than my friends. Liliana and Rafaela, you have become my family in Puerto Lopez.

When I have a long day at work, it is your faces I look forward to seeing when I come home because I know your innocence about the world will make me forget any of my problems. When I miss my mom’s warm, long embraces, Rafaela you are the one I can count on to hug me until my bones nearly break and peck me with kisses like a chicken until I am completely covered. When I am sick and can barely move out of bed, you both run back to your house begging your mom to make chicken soup to bring me for lunch. And Liliana, you have dutifully accepted the role as my protector when my father is so far away by making sure I found a way to get into my apartment when I was locked out, keeping a detailed record of who passes by my apartment and at what time, and ensuring my boyfriend always has the best intentions.

Even though you are seven and four years old, you are mighty powerful and have the ability to make me feel so loved. I can’t imagine a day when I will come home from work and don’t see you running toward me, Liliana, screaming “mi tía Devin” at the top of your lungs. I don’t want to think about a day when I don’t hear a knock at my door at 7am, for I know I will miss knowing it can only be one person, you, Rafaela, jumping up and down like a little firecracker with the biggest smile I have ever seen on a child.

You now call me “tía” or “aunt” but I am in no way related to you biologically. You include me in your family birthday celebrations, movie nights, and almuerzos. You cried with me when my dog passed away and laughed with me as we tried different foods, kale (for you) and cows heart (for me). You two have wholeheartedly welcomed me into your family the past year and given me that irreplaceable feeling of belonging.

I don’t think you will ever understand how grateful I am for our relationship. I appreciate you, Liliana and Rafaela, for making me feel like I belong in a place where I am so clearly an outsider and for giving me the family I so desperately needed in Puerto Lopez. To you, I am forever grateful.

Un Abrazote,

“tia” Devin